Confessions of an Artist time-

I am not a natural born cook.  My kids do not believe me, they like my cooking.  And in fact I make it a personal study to learn to cook well.  But this is because I love my kids- not the culinary arts.  In fact, most days I rather don’t like even being in the kitchen.   Lately, however, I have been seriously wondering about all the talk being made about the Gluten free/ Cassein free diets that have been developed to help many Autistic kids; especially when I hear “Mom, my stomach doesn’t want to eat that”   Problem is, the whole learning curve of GFCF scares me to death!  So I have hid behind the very real fact of no time during the school year, and put the cookbooks away.

But- I think I am going to make this summer my time for a little bit of experimenting to see if I can even manage these recipes, or get my kids to eat them.  So, first one on the list–

“Banana Cake or Muffins”  from “the kid-friendly ADHD & Autism Cookbook” by Compart and Laake pg.310  (I’m going to do the muffin version)

1 C quinoa flour
2/3 C brown rice flour
1/3 C tapioca starch
1 C sugar
1 tea xanthan gum
1/2 Tbl. baking soda
2 tea. salt
2 eggs + 1 egg white
1 C mashed manana
1/2 C oil
1/2 C rice milk

combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and mix in low speed of an electric mixer until well blended, then high speed for 2 minutes.  use paper cupcake liners (for the cake version- oil a 9”x13” pan, and cover with parchment paper)
Bake in a 350*F oven (180* C) for 20 minutes (45 mins. for cake)
(note- I am going to add pecan pieces to make it a banana-nut version)

I’ll let you know how it went.  🙂

Categories: LDS Mom of Autism, recipes | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Confessions of an Artist time-

  1. I wanted to leave a comment on the Butterfly Kisses blog, but it doesn’t accept anonymous comments. So I was wondering if you could pass along a comment to her for me?

    Quinoa tastes disgusting (in my brief experiment with it), so I hope she doesn’t give up if the muffins don’t turn out well. I have a growing collection of some good recipes I have discovered, created, or mostly adapted from my favorite pre-gluten-free cooking days. I’d be glad to pass them on in email if you or she are interested.

    I have been doing gluten-free for almost four years now, and have not noticed a huge difference in my kids’ behavior on the diet. It has seemed to improve concentration and focus slightly and slightly reduced anxiety, more so for my younger kids than my older ones. I haven’t noticed much of a difference in whether or not they have milk products other than the physical
    symptoms of gas and constipation, so I didn’t do casein-free for very long. I do limit their milk intake, though, for that reason.

    One thing I have noticed these past four years, is that my children’s immune systems are stronger on the gluten-free diet. They get sick less frequently, with lighter symptoms, and get well more quickly than the kids
    they associate with at church and school. I thought it was just a coincidence at first, but going through four winters in a row with much less sickness than other kids that visit our house or are in their Primary classes would be a very big coincidence. Before the diet, I would usually have sick kids from October to April. These past few years we have gotten by with only 2 or 3 rounds of colds a year, and we have only had the flu once or twice the whole time, and only a couple of kids got it.

    The first year on the diet was hard — so much cooking, and extra anxiety over the high cost of ingredients, and more expensive failures if a recipe didn’t turn out well. But now I feel like it is worth the extra time and money. I know that our kids are healthier than they were before, when they subsisted on sandwiches made from white bread, crackers, and cold cereal. We still eat a lot of cold cereal, but no white bread or crackers.

    I highly recommend getting a good bread machine if you are going to go totally gluten-free. I make GF bread 2 or 3 times a week, and it tastes so much better and is much healthier than the bread you can buy at the store.
    Also, if you can beg or borrow a wheat/grain grinder (that is clean or can be thoroughly cleaned from the wheat), it saves a lot of money to grind your own brown rice flour than to buy it at the store. We were lucky to have
    been given our in-laws’ old one from the seventies that had never been used.

    Good luck, Shareen!

    Thanks, Stephanie!

    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

