Millions and Trillions and Zillions of Books (not really, but close)

Here’s some of my favorite books–yup I’ve read them all (except the last two)

RECIPE BOOKS:

(these are the ones I have tried a few recipes from,  and which will be my mainstays as my courage to be in the kitchen improves.  And the ones any beginner should start with.)

Absolutely number ONE on my list:   “The kid-friendly ADHD & Autism Cookbook” -by Pamela J Compart, M.D. and Dana Laake, R.D.H.,M.S.,L.D.N.    I’m not going to link it to anywhere, because it’s available in so many bookstores, and on-line book selling sites.

Next favorite: all of the “Gluten-Free Gourmet” books -by Bette Hagman  (a special place in my heart for her “Gluten-free Gourmet Makes Dessert”)

ASPERGER’S:

One of my all time favorites:   “The Complete Guide to Asperger’s Syndrome” – by Tony Attwood– this one was fantasticly helpful, and really “get’s it”– and should be re-labeled …Asperger’s Syndrome and High Functioning Autism– because it fits my sons so well!

“Asperger;s Syndrome a Guide for Parents and Professionals” -by Tony Attwood– This is a smaller version, with helpful hints on how to tell others, family and schools, about your child.

“Be Different- Adventures of a Free-Range Aspergian” – by John Elder Robison —journal style insights and thoughts– totally awesome and good for the heart!

AUTISM:

“The Child with Special Needs” – by Stanley I. Greenspan, M.D., and Serena Wieder, PH.D. whe Robin Simons– This is a bit older of a book, but is still very very good.  It was the first book I picked up when my kids were very young, and started my mind learning the paths and mazes of finding out how to help my kids, though I didn’t know it at the time.

Another Favorite– “Healing the New Childhood Epidemics- Autism, ADHD, Asthma, and Allergies” -by Kenneth Bock, M.D., and Cameron Stauth– Totally had me thinking on this one… these guys are CLOSE.

“Smart Kids with Learning Difficulties” -by Rich Weinfeld, Linda Barnes Probinson, Sue Jeweler, & Betty Roffman Shevitz  — this one didn’t stick with me as much, but perhaps it was not as applicable to the needs of my kids at this moment in time.

“Addressing the Challenging Behavior of Children wit High-Functioning Autism/Asperger Syndrome in the Classroom” -by Rebecca A. Moyes–very helpful and straightforward, but dry reading- you know, I really feel sorry for teachers.

DYSLEXIA:

Very thought provoking and uplifting– “The GIFT of Dyslexia”

MIGRAINES:

“Mayo Clinic- on-Headache”

SENSORY INTEGRATION:

By this time I was wondering if there was anything I didn’t need to learn about….

Very good- “the Everything Parent’s Guide to Sensory Integration Disorder” – by Terri Mouro

“Raising a Sensory Smart Child” – by Lindsy Biel M.A., OTR/L, and Nancy Peske, forward by Temple Grandin

COMFORT BOOKS:

“The Funny Side of Autism” – by

“Talk With Me: Experiences with Autism in the LDS Community” – compiled by Kathy Weatherford and Natalie Wright

STUFF FOR KIDS:

EVERY house with asperger’s or HFA should have this one… “all cats have asperger syndrome” – by Kathy Hoopmann

And just as good– “all dogs have ADHD” – by Kathy Hoopmann

cute for little kids trying to figure themselves out– “It’s Called Dyslexia” by Jennifer Moore-Mallinos, illustrated by Marta Fabrega

ON MY READING TABLE RIGHT NOW:

“Autism Spectrum Disorders” -by Chantal Sicile-Kira-  I actually started this a while ago, but I put it down when my brain started hurting.

“A Parent’s Guide to Asperger Syndrome & High Functioning Autism”-by Sally Oxonoff, PhD, Garaldine Dawson, PhD, and James McPartland, PhD– I just bought this one over the weekend- and already, it feels like they are standing in my house.  Highly Reccomend it already.

Categories: Favorite Books | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Millions and Trillions and Zillions of Books (not really, but close)

  1. zPolarBear

    “Be Different- Adventures of a Free-Range Aspergian” – by John Elder Robison
    That book just makes me smile from ear to ear, to hear someone else seeing the same crazy world I see… =)

  2. Here’s a suggestion of an excellent book for understanding girls/females with aspergers: Aspergirls by Rudy Simone. It is a firsthand “guide” to recognizing the experiences that girls go thru or can expect to go thru. I am currently reading The asperkids Secret Book ofSocial Rules, by Jennifer Cook O’Toole.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

