Saturday Gratitude

I am SO blessed!

IMG_0508

I am sitting on the floor, surrounded by things I need to pick-up, clean, sort, and do; but I am also surrounded by my family– literally, where I go is where they want to be, Hubby napping at my feet, kids playing games on the computers and handhelds with three of them within an arms length of me– and that’s ok.

The spirit is strong today.  We are blessed to have fast enough internet access to stream General Conference- So my computer was set up where all could see and hear- some years we hook it up to our bigger screen TV- but this year we were tired.  No matter- it was awesome.

It really warmed my heart to see some success from all the years and years of consistent effort… All the toddler years and young grade school years, where so much of the meeting is absorbed with having to be stern and quell arguments and noise, are starting to show some results.  I still get random comments, as their brains are just plain wired that way; but this year they all graciously accepted the reminder that I was listening to a talk. They had all accepted my offer of paper and pencils and spent most of the morning diverting their need to comment on what they were learning, onto drawings of things the speakers were talking about. Even  DK laid on my lap and drew if/then cartoons (if you are tempted,then…) and it was so completing to see his brain grasping and processing spiritual concepts as he felt safe in the nearness of family love and the spirit of the meeting.

I don’t pretend to believe it will always be this easy- I am well aware of the size of the  backslides and gains that kids on the spectrum must move thru, including mine- and who’s going thru them at the moment.  But today was such a gift, that I would be very ungrateful to not make mention of it.  And I really was blessed by the later part of President Eyring’s talk this morning… He talked of the Savior drawing  close to our loved ones as we serve and draw close to Him.  It was a moment of great hope and healing for my heart.   Hope you find a moment to feel His love for you too.4164-800

Categories: LDS Mom of Autism | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Saturday Gratitude

  1. Love those moments of “hope and healing”. Blessings to you and yours, in Him. Shandra

  2. Yes, I loved that talk to. We all need Him to draw close to our loved ones! Lovely post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

