Heroic Legacies

Ahhh-  Finally made it to afternoon on a lovely Father’s Day Sunday.    Amazingly, all the kids sat for a family photo, just for a father’s day gift for Grandpa, and they are now all playing in their rooms;  time to sit and relax, watching the movie “Percy Jackson”  with my Hubby- Wow, it almost feels like a date!

Sitting here, thinking of my Dad, and all the fathers behind him- in fact, we’re even watching a movie based on the legacies of the fathers– I really wanted to give tribute to the awesome men that have been a part of my life.  Only problem is, it’s been 15 minutes– quiet time is over 🙂 So, since I can’t think deep or poetic right now…  I decided to do more of a photo essay.

pioneer fam-1996

This is not my ancestors photo, tho’ it would be fun if it was.  It’s us as a young family, working at the “This is the place” living museum park in SLC, Utah.  It was a fantastic summer.  It wasn’t the first time that I felt connected to my ancestors- but this time, I was old enough to finally really understand what they did for me; and with my little ones, I really got a feeling for the effort it took to raise kids well in their circumstances.  Even as a special needs mom- I really have very little to complain about.  Thank you- I am so grateful for the sacrifice you gave to build the foundation of my family’s faith.

img286

This photo is my Dad and his parents and brother.  I would love to sit and upload photo’s like this for all my, and my hubby’s parents and grandparents- but it’s father’s day, so I’ll let my nostalgia stick with just one line of Heroes.  Awesome, huh?  Thank you Grandpa (and Grandma) you raised a great man, who became my first hero.

img206

Faster than a calculator;  Stronger than a a guy half his age;  Able to … to hold babies in a single hand… A man of integrity and valor that gave me the example of what kind of man I wanted for my own best friend someday.

fam play-spr2003

so— Here’s my best friend– a really great father in his own right, a true credit to the legacy of his own heritage.  Being a hero to his daughters, and teaching his sons how to be great fathers in their turn.

And here we are now- the photo I mentioned that we took just today.  A gift just for our Grandpa on Father’s day.  Grandpa- you have passed on a legacy of heroes… The heart of courage to climb the higher path, and the love to move thru the pain, and never give up on anyone.  Thanks, we love you!

IMG_3484

Categories: Courage quotes, Midnight musings | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

