Peace, Be still and Know

“I pause a moment and breathe.
‘Peace. Not as the word giveth.’ ”
594140main_image_2075_946-710

I haven’t been up to writing much this summer– between kids needs and my fatigue, it has been hard to even think.  In fact, I mostly felt like complaining this morning- but I came across this journal entry- and it reset my balance.

“Peace I give. Not as the world giveth”

Not the end of wars or the locking up of all your enemies.  Not even a sudden burst of power to make everyone understand and treat my special needs kids right.  That is a cease-fire; not peace. Peace comes quietly- distilling into the heart as we seek his comfort; or lifting us to our feet when we are tired, but need to be strong for our loved ones.  It comes when we allow our faith to open the window a little wider and see beyond this one moment of time, and catch the tiniest glimpse of the grand scheme of eternity.  He is in charge, and even tho’ he says that we need opposition in our lives, he watches and never leaves us alone- that gives me a great comfort of peace.

so I listen to him again- “Be still” he says, pause and breathe… “And know that I am God”

o.k.– now I can handle the force of nature required to get all my kiddies to church.  🙂

  • John 14:27

    27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

  • Doctrine and Covenants 101:16

    16 Therefore, let your hearts be comforted concerning Zion; for all flesh is in mine hands; be still and know that I am God.

Categories: LDS Mom of Autism, Midnight musings | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Peace, Be still and Know

  1. Debbie

    Thanks, I needed that! Life has been too crazy—at least I had a couple days in South Dakota to unwind a little. Now for getting ready to go back to work, get Jerianne into her program, and a bunch of other things.

  2. Reblogged this on butterfly kisses and pixie dust and commented:

    needed this again

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

