Courage Quote Monday- Leaning on the Lord

Sometimes I like to try to convince myself to just hang on till the weekend, and then I can rest…silly me.  So I have decided that by Monday afternoon, I desperately need a good courage quote to pick me up and help me get running again.

This one is a tiny bit from an Ensign article, from March of 1991, “Living With Chronic Illness” by Libby Knapp It was incredibly just what I needed today,  and I highly recommend reading the whole thing, find it Here.

“And he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.” (Alma 7:12.)

Leaning on the Lord enables me to find joy now, despite the world’s insistence that “when you have your health, you have just about everything.” In contrast, consider the Savior’s words: “Wherefore, be of good cheer, and do not fear,  for I the Lord am with you, and will stand by you.” (D&C 68:6.)

…I have come to realize that one of the purposes of trials, even those that seem unfair and undeserved, is to prepare a heart to bear testimony that “waiting on the Lord” does make a difference.

“Blessed is he that keepeth my commandments, whether in life or in death; and he that is faithful in tribulation, the reward of the same is greater in the kingdom of heaven. …

“For this cause I have sent you—that you might be obedient, and that your hearts might be prepared to bear testimony of the things which are to come.” (D&C 58:2, 6.)

IMG_0323

Categories: Courage quotes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

