The Night Before Thanksgiving

303336_494229290642549_1840102058_n

Twas the night before Thanksgiving,  And all through the house

The chaos has settled, the noise has been doused.

The kid are all cuddled and finally in bed,

with visions of turkey and pies in their heads.

With Grandma and Grandpa,  comfy and sleeping;

I sit here and think- in this vigil I’m keeping–

How very grateful I am for laughter and chatter

The love that we share- those rare gifts that matter.

The grief I have felt when the hard times were rending,

opens the door to miracles unending;

Kids that strive hard, their barriers to hurdle

and show love to each other (and the pun wars kept fertile.)

Thanks to my loved ones who all had their part,

And the Lord’s loving hand to lighten my heart.

As I yawn in exhaustion, my to-do-list shut tight,

Thanksgiving wishes I send, and to all, good night.

IMG_1727

Categories: Midnight musings, Poetry | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

