“With the Light” A reader’s review from a new perspective

I have had moments to wonder why Manga is so very attractive to my kids.  They read very well, but if given the choice- it will be manga.  Well,  I started finding out from my hubby and my kids, that they think in pictures- and they feel like speaking in English is like translating from their first language (pics) to a second language (words).  And suddenly, it was not so hard to understand; reading in your native language is a happy place.

41IwfvHJUcL

Now- My sweet TeaRose found a book at the school library… and it’s pure love.  Not only Manga, but is a lovely little story of a young mother’s efforts to raise a severely Autistic boy in modern Japan.

She has these (the first 2, so far) in the place of honor on her night table, after she asked me to read it too, of course.  Then she started asking me very good, direct questions of the “was I like this” and “what are the other ends of the spectrum like with this” sort.  She says it has helped her a lot, and everyone should read it  🙂  and, well- it is actually a good read   (if you are willing to read from the right hand end of the book to the left, Manga style.)

Categories: Favorite Books, Guest Posts (seeing the Autistic perspective) | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

