Ode to Joy, Next Stanza, part 2

Hi!

It’s really unusual that I have enough energy to write at the tail end of the day- but guess what?  I am eternally grateful for such a wonderful loving Father and his blessings of the day.

Today, I started out the day with the decision to watch for moments of good.  And I have to admit it was not all rosy. It started well tho, my girls and I were in awe at the amazing storm clouds dancing in the first light of dawn on the way to high school.

Then I had doctor appointment stuff to do with one of the boys.  It went ok.  – but I have been struggling with the fatigue part of my chronic fun all week, finally it won, and my short power nap took 2 hours.  😛  I didn’t forget my hunt- there were little things along the way, things like my Hubby being totally sweet to me, and my older boys making me laugh, I even managed laundry.  I was starting to think that I would have to write about being grateful for these little normal things (and I am, don’t get me wrong!)  but then a couple of moments of personal Shazam happened.

First, on the way to pick the girls up again, my mind was caught up on a phrase a friend had said to me online- saying “…wise woman, with a lot of experience”  those 7 little words kept tumbling over in my head until I almost shouted with surprise when the phrase was followed by the thought “wisdom that can only be gained by trudging thru the gunk- in person.”   Suddenly things I had forgotten came back into perspective– namely those moments when I have come to realize that the personal strength to handle trying moments, or difficult kid’s needs – and the tiny flashes of wisdom here and there to help others, have ALL come thru earlier moments of great trials and hardships.  And I wondered for a minute if this was what all the great people I admire have in common.

So I was totally at peace this afternoon- but still tired… then this evening I heard the brand new PianoGuys cover music. I’m not sure how to link to it yet, so go look it up- called “Fight Song/Amazing Grace”.  I read the “abouts” in their you tube link, and then read the lyrics to the songs- and I felt galvanized- this hit me right in the place where the fire in my bones has always burned- and kindled the tired embers.  I know tomorrow will come, and I might have to care for kids in the middle of the night before that- but at the moment tonight, I feel 10 years younger.  Perhaps this sounds a little silly, but we all know the power of music, and the Lord spoke to my tired body and soul today- something I desperately needed.

And I am so very grateful.

P1020295

Categories: LDS Mom of Autism, Midnight musings | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Ode to Joy, Next Stanza, part 2

  1. quote from the Piano Guys site–
    “Meaning / Story behind the song:

    “When we first heard Rachel Platten’s “Fight Song” we were inspired by its message. In a world where we too often talk about our differences, we have at least one thing in common. We all struggle. Not in the same way, nor at the same level, but we all want a fighting chance. And we all share in one gift: The will to make the most of our lives. To take what we’ve been given and turn it into something better could be considered the sentient measuring stick of success. But to do so seldom is simple and more often requires we fight. Not against each other. But against the current threatening to drown the ambition in us.

    “There is tremendous purpose in struggle. It is when the struggle becomes so fierce that we must fight to swim or sink. John Newton, who penned “Amazing Grace,” worked on a slave trader ship and condoned inhuman atrocities. As his ship was on the verge of being torn apart in a violent storm he called out for Grace. Once his feet were again planted on firm soil he determined to change. His covenant was written into these words, ‘I once was lost, but now I’m found; was blind, but now I see.’

    “…We recognize that this video is far less important than a fight for one’s life. We hope this music will serve as an anthem for those that are in the fight of their lives. We have people close to us who inspire us every day with their grace in the face of such a struggle. This video is dedicated to them: The superheroes in our lives that don’t wear capes, but wear a smile under villainous pressure — those that have been through so many defining moments that they are intimately acquainted with Grace and know it to be close cousins with hope. We pray ‘Grace will bring them safety through.’ “

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

