Running on a knife edge

I walk the knife’s edge.

As “World Autism Awareness” day approaches, I wonder if that’s all a good thing.

True, when I was growing up, I had never heard of the word.

When my kids were small, neither had most doctors.

Now most people have heard,

seen the t-shirts.

They’re “Aware”

and some care.

But this week, my son spotted my bumper-sticker, “Mom! I can’t believe you have this!

“I can’t believe you would do this to anyone-You know that word is toxic!”

It’s true- In his age group- well, let’s just say if that word comes up-

All the friends he’s been trying to make

disappear

into thin air.

“It’s not pretty” he says “and it’s mostly because- of young mothers in all their campaigning.”

Ouch- my heart hurts.   Like a mother bear with unfinishable battles-

I must fight still, to get the help they may need– but I must step with care

For all they crave is to be seen as just kids

No yellow star they must wear

to make people stare.

So Yesterday I put on my red shirt and red shoes, my great big folder in hand as my weapon.

Took on the red tape, and was strong in my stand–it was good.

But then I dropped it all at home in my room, notes will wait.

for Today I will hug, laugh and play without care

of the knife edge- It’s worth it

to be loved by these angel warriors

God placed in my care.

P1010444P1010446P1010445 - Version 2

Categories: LDS Mom of Autism, Midnight musings, Poetry | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Running on a knife edge

  1. zPolarBear

    Well put…
    Words can not fully describe the load a mother in this world, but this was well said.
    Thank you,
    for walking the knife’s edge;
    Enjoy your play along the way 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

