Jello-Chia food bars

P1030777

Well- I promised the recipe for the bars I used for my sweetie to take with her to her Pioneer Trek.  As a success note- she tried her best, and ended up only needing to rely on these bars once.  (whoo hoo!!!!)

So, I found the original recipe here; and she does a really great job with cooking photos (which I don’t) so I am going to let you hop over to her site for that kind of details if you need them…

So, here’s the original recipe ingredients…

Ingredients:
2 cups oats (regular or quick)
2 1/2 cups powdered milk
1 cup sugar
3 Tablespoons honey
1 3 oz package jello (orange or lemon–these bars already have a high sugar content, and a sweeter jello just makes them more sweet)
3 Tablespoons water

  1. Mix oats, powdered milk, sugar in a mixing bowl.
  2. Mix water, jello, honey in a saucepan. Bring to a rolling boil.
  3. Add jello mixture to oats mixture and blend well with a mixer. If the dough is too dry to stick together, add water one tablespoon at a time- here in dry Arizona, I needed 4 tablespoons to get a mix that clumped, but was not too wet.
  4. After it’s thoroughly mixed, press into a lined (with parchment paper) 9″x13″ pan. (*if you put another parchment paper on top, you can use your rolling pin, then discard the top paper) Make sure to press it down firmly.
  5. Cut dough into bars before you bake, and ensure they’re completely cut through. (I cut it into 24 bars, in a four pieces by six arrangement.)
  6. Bake bars at 200 degrees Fahrenheit for 1.5 to 2 hours. Remove from pan and allow to cool. (Alternatively, you can dehydrate them at 145 degrees for 4-6 hours.) (the goal is totally dry)
  7. After dry and cooled, separate bars and package in a foodsaver bag or mylar bag.

Notes:

We used quick oats, for an easier to chew bar, and orange flavored jello; and I also added 1/4 Cup chia seeds, for the added protein and nutrition I have been trying to get into her.  The resulting bar is really sweet tasting (which she loved) and tasted a lot like a lemon drop in crunchy form.   For myself, I might try reducing the sugar a bit next try,  but it doesn’t bother me much as this is not a diet bar- it’s a trying to get food IN my kids bar.  🙂  Even so, it is still way under 200 calories per bar, when cut into 24 bars like I did, which easily compares with commercial brands.  I found another blog that tried this recipe too- and he did some basic math for calories- for those who are interested, here.

We are already planning our next flavors- starting with strawberry.  And I have also started playing with an idea in my head for bone-broth crackers.  I’ll let you know if they work.

Happy Trails!

Categories: recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

